Social Determinants of Health (SDoH)

In the U.S., social factors, or Social Determinants of Health (SDoH), the conditions in which people are born, grow, live, work and age, can impact up to 80% of someone’s health. Highmark is working to minimize barriers to improve the health and well-being of the communities and customers it serves. But we can’t do it alone.

As a catalyst for change, Highmark teams up with others to create environments that help people be fully healthy — mentally, physically, and socially.

Making Social Care Part of Whole Person Care

Through Highmark’s case workers and provider partners, Highmark’s team asks “non-health” questions to help identify identify SDoH factors impacting our members. By getting to root causes, Highmark can lead the way in helping members and patients move past health care to focus solely on health. The following areas are addressed through these questions:

  • Food Insecurity
  • Social Isolation
  • Housing Stability
  • Health Literacy
  • Financial Resource Strain
  • Transportation Needs
  • Safe and Stable Housing
  • Employment
  • Childcare Access and Affordability

Once case workers and providers have identified social barriers to health, the member is connected to organizations and resources within their community via the Highmark Community Support platform.

Community Investments in Social Care

Addressing social barriers to health also requires commitment and investment at the community level. Highmark uses tools such as the Community Health Management Hub® and hundreds of public and clinical data sets to understand the challenges facing specific communities. Highmark then works with local community groups and leaders to co-create innovative approaches that will help improve community health and reduce health disparities.

Learn more about SDoH in your area.

Get to know Highmark and learn more about the 80% project. Select “Get Started” below and then enter your zip code. Social Determinants of Health programs are available in Delaware, Pennsylvania,  Northeastern New York, Western New York and West Virginia.