Blue Fund

Highmark Western and Northeastern New York grant program that makes meaningful investments to improve the health and sustainability of our community.

As part of the Highmark Bright Blue Futures community giving and involvement program, Blue Fund supports partnerships that will move our New York regions toward a bright, healthier future.

2023 Grant Cycle Closed

Blue Fund is no longer accepting applications for 2023. Stay tuned for next year’s grant cycle.

Our focus

Highmark is committed to eliminating health disparities and improving the health of the communities we serve. We’re looking to partner with nonprofits that are improving racial and health equity, including supporting social determinants of health in under-resourced communities.

Key health areas

Key health areas were chosen based on public health studies, Highmark claims data, and input from community leaders. We believe these areas of focus have the highest impact on the overall health and well-being of our communities. Providing funding to local organizations will help us to reach further and support greater change than we could alone.

  • Behavioral Health
  • Cardiovascular Health
  • Health Care Workforce Development
  • Healthy Children
  • Maternal Health
new york state map with highlights on western new york and north eastern new york

Blue Fund Investment Areas

Highmark provides significant grants to organizations and initiatives in Western New York and Capital Regions that make a positive impact on our key health areas.

Prior to completing the Blue Fund Application, please review the program guidelines, as they may have been updated from previous years.

Western New York

Your organization must serve or be located in one or more of the following eight counties of Highmark Blue Cross Blue Shield of Western New York: Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Genesee, Niagara, Orleans, and Wyoming.

Capital Region

Your organization must serve or be located in one or more of the following counties of Highmark Blue Shield of Northeastern New York: Albany, Clinton, Columbia, Essex, Fulton, Greene, Montgomery, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Warren and Washington.

The 2023 Grant Cycle is closed

We’re no longer accepting applications. Stay tuned for next year’s grant cycle.